street cake

It’s my birthday and I’ll dream if I want to

with 7 comments

If you read my other blog, then you know that my birthday is December 31 (because I am a shameless self-promoter of birthdays) and that I am turning 25.

Since my Christmas list was basically “Dear Santa, I’d like everything from my registry that I didn’t get for my wedding” I thought I would post my birthday wish list.  My birthday dream wish list.  All the things that I would buy if I had thousands of dollars to spare and a closet the size of a New York apartment (well, a Park Avenue apartment because let me say, many of the apartments in New York are the size of closets).

Prada Studded Velvet Pump (via Barney’s)

I have Tiffany at I am Style-ish to thank for these lovelies.  She posted these last Tuesday when she wrote about the Barney’s sale.  The fact that I never wear heels and that even on sale these shoes are still over $200 didn’t even matter when I laid eyes on these!

Rebecca Taylor “Mini Me” Silk Ruffle Dress (via Bloomingdale’s)

I love this dress.  I’ve been dying to find a floral dress that isn’t too “little girl” nor is it too “old lady” and I think this one hits the mark!  The ruffles are kind of fabulous and I really dig the silhouette.

Ugg Kensington

I know that I’m not supposed to admit this in public, let alone on my newly formed style blog, but I like Uggs.  They are comfortable and warm and I live in the Northeast people and it’s COLD here.  It snows and it’s yucky and I just like to be cozy some days.  These boots would definitely keep me comfy and cozy!

J. Crew Corwin Cardigan

As you’ll soon learn, I have a serious love affair with cardigans.  I am above all a nerd and my inner nerd simply CANNOT resist a good cardigan.

French Connection “Serpeant” Sequined Striped Dress (via Bloomingdale’s)

This dress would be perfect for the fabulous NYE/birthday party I would be going to if I didn’t completely prefer spending my birthday watching movies, drinking champagne in my PJs, snuggling on the couch with Boo and going to bed at 12:07.  What I love about this dress is that the t-shirt silhouette dresses down the sequins and makes the dress a little more wearable, especially for people who generally feel like a disco ball in sequins!

So that’s it.  That’s my birthday wish list.  I think the plan come January will be to empty out my birthday cards and scour Forever 21, H&M, and Urban Outfitters for copy cat pieces!

Written by stealthnerd

December 29, 2009 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i agree that the dress is not too either one
    i’m a little in love with the feminine ruffles that are all around now! oh, and the pleats! pleated collars are apparently my downfall : )
    and i can’t even comprehend shoe sales in NYC… i always make the mistake of walking into Saks when we’re there and they’re having their holiday sale… it’s sad when $350 shoes seem like a great deal

    notsojenny

    December 29, 2009 at 10:06 am

  2. My birthday, too, is coming up (January 5th), and I also just got married in October, so I am planning on asking for a lot of the things we didn’t get from our wedding registry. I actually even kept my wedding registry on myregistry.com and just switched it to a birthday registry so I could add the other non-wedding stuff I want–like that sequin dress now that you brought it to my attention! This is such a great list I’m going to have to be a copycat!

    Tessa

    December 29, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  3. NSJ: You can’t be blamed for any shopping indiscretions in NYC. There is something in the air in that city that just warps your sense of “appropriate prices” and if you spend long enough there you start thinking “$298 for Cole Haan? That’s cheap!”

    Tessa: Wow, I love the idea of switching the registry from a wedding one to a birthday one–what a great idea!!

    stealthnerd

    December 30, 2009 at 8:56 am

  4. I want those heels so bad it physically hurts. I’m going to go hide in the bathroom and cry about my lack of money.

    Megkathleen

    December 31, 2009 at 4:49 pm

  5. Meg: That was the exact same reaction that I had when I saw those shoes.

    stealthnerd

    December 31, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  6. Great choices! I love floral print dresses and I also live in cardigans! Thanks so much for the comment on my blog! It means the world!

    tieka

    January 2, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  7. Tieka: Thanks so much! And thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    stealthnerd

    January 6, 2010 at 5:30 pm


Leave a Reply

