street cake

Travel outfit

with 2 comments

Cardigan, Gap; Tee, Gap; Jeans, American Eagle; Chucks, Converse; Purse, Cole Haan

This past weekend Boo took me to a bed and breakfast in Lancaster for my birthday.  We also got to hit the antique stores and the outlets, an excellent birthday present!

A few days before we drove the hour or so to Lancaster we spent 5 hours on the PA turnpike and I have to tell you that it was the most shocking and appalling experience.  At one of the rest stops along the way I was waiting for Boo and was absolutely STUNNED by the way everyone was dressed!  I only saw 2 people there who looked like they were prepared to go out in public.  Women in sweat pants and jerseys, children with PJ pants tucked haphazardly into only part of their boots and hair that had probably never seen a comb, teenage boys who were unhealthily obese wearing basketball shorts on a day where the high was only 23.  It was as if NONE of these people realized they would be seeing or interacting with other human beings!

I understand comfort while traveling, I really do.  But there is a fine line between comfort and slovenliness.  Sure, I can (and sometimes do) spend the whole day in sweats and slippers but I do it in the privacy of my own home…and occasionally during my freshman and sophomore years I visited the dining halls like that for brunch, but they closed early and sometimes there just wasn’t time to get dressed and I wasn’t missing the french toast sticks.

Written by stealthnerd

January 6, 2010 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. of course i agree with you. it’s an epidemic. whenever we travel up to CT i notice i’m in the minority at every single rest stop because i don’t have pajama pants on. honestly, people wear SLIPPERS into the public bathrooms. it’s unreal. people have no shame.
    and antiques+outlets+b&b+birthday= sounds like the greatest time EVER!! i may request that for my next birthday

    notsojenny

    January 6, 2010 at 9:43 am

  2. NSJ: You should totally request that for your next bday–it was a GREAT weekend!

    Also…slippers in public bathrooms?! GROSS!!!!!

    stealthnerd

    January 6, 2010 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

