street cake

Omg…look, it’s that Rodarte stuff

with 11 comments

Generally speaking, my plans for street cake are for it to be the more visual of my two blogs.  However, every so often I’ll have something to say that the normal shenaniganist reader isn’t going to relate to.  Something about my hair, or makeup, or clothes.  Today is one of those “so often’s.”

la

On Sunday I ventured into Target.  It was actually a trip to complete some stuff from our registry but the store was in such complete chaos that it was just terrifying.  But since I was there, I knew I had to at least take a look through the clothes to see if there were any Rodarte pieces left.

There were.

Unfortunately for me, there was nothing left was in my size and what was, wasn’t exactly my taste (no offense meant, of course, but the rain coat wasn’t exactly my thing!)

While I was perusing the remaining styles though, some girls wandered by.

Omg…look, it’s that Road Art stuff.

Excuse me?  Did you just say “Road Art”?  Like, with a distinct pause between the syllables?

As if that wasn’t weird enough, the girl’s friend chimed in.

Ditz 1: Omg…look, it’s that Road Art stuff.

Ditz 2: What?

Ditz 1: Haven’t you heard of him?  He’s like, this really cool designer, and his stuff is all really avant-garde.

Are you kidding me?  HE is like a really cool designer?  WHAT HE?!  I just stood there, jaw dropped, wondering what the heck this weirdo girl was talking about and how it was possible that she was twirling around the racks, pawing over pieces, and  thinking she knew exactly what she was talking about when she was so completely off base!

All I wanted to do was grab her by the shoulders, shake her around a little, and say “listen up girly, get your facts straight!  If you don’t know how to say the name, that’s one thing, but if you don’t even know that the label was started by and is designed by two women, NOT A MAN, then just. don’t. speak.”

I can’t help it.  It bugs me.  Granted when I started my internship at Elle I was no fashion expert.  I couldn’t even come up with a good “favorite designer” to list in my Glamour interview when they asked my favorite accessories designer.  I didn’t know which designers were “medium end” versus “low end” when they clumped Banana Republic and J.Crew into “low end” with H&M and Forever 21.  Oh sure I knew Prada but I’d never heard of Miu Miu.  And I definitely mis-pronounced Moschino the first few times.  But I never pretended to know.  I never acted like the authority because I knew I wasn’t!  Far from it.  So it just blew my mind to watch this girl flaunt her totally incorrect “knowledge.”

What’s the point here?  No point I guess, just that it boggles the mind when people speak with such authority on topics, or in this case designers, that they’ve probably never heard of.

Written by stealthnerd

January 12, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] If you wanted to check out the writing, check over on street cake. […]

  2. um, yah. i can honestly say that i’ve never heard of Rodarte until now but happy to say that after initial googling i pronounced it correctly from the start : )
    i’m not entirely up on all the higher end brands but the few i am familiar with i have definitely learned to pronounce properly before every uttering the name myself.

    notsojenny

    January 12, 2010 at 1:44 pm

  3. I’m an artist. Do you know how many times I would have paid money to beat someone’s head up against an art history book for mispronouncing Monet, Manet, Seurat, the list goes on? And they have no idea what the art is about, let alone the sex of the artist. I understand. It hurts on the inside.

    Heather Rose

    January 12, 2010 at 10:03 pm

  4. You totally should have corrected her! I know I would have. I don’t care of it’s mean

    Megkathleen

    January 13, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  5. I’d never heard of this before either, possibly since I’m neither american nor privy to Target (if only) but this cracked me up. 🙂

    Paula

    January 13, 2010 at 5:29 pm

  6. Oh lord. Well I have two pieces from the Road Art collection. I just love how avant-garde he is.

    Ugh, I hate people.

    Jamie

    January 14, 2010 at 12:44 pm

  7. NSJ: See, it’s not that hard! I mean, Google puts EVERYTHING at your fingertips!

    Heather: It DOES hurt on the inside! And I feel your pain b/c no one EVER knows the difference b/w Monet and Manet. And the pronunciation? They’re French, and the French generally don’t pronounce their consonants–remember that haha!

    Meg: If I hadn’t been in such a hurry to get out of the sh*tstorm that Target was that day, I totally would have!

    Paula: Your lack of Target breaks my heart 😦

    Jamie: Bwahahaha! But seriously, I agree.

    stealthnerd

    January 14, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  8. So this is where youve been spending your time?

    You dont have to worry- I will never claim to be an expert on fashion (just an fyi, in case your worried I may someday blog about fashion).

    Matt

    January 14, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  9. Matt: Yeah…I’m so sneaky, aren’t I? But you caught me! And on all counts too because I was totally worried that you’d start fashion blogging haha!

    stealthnerd

    January 14, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  10. I clearly know nothing about fashion, and I don’t pretend to. If I see a piece I like, I buy it (if I can afford it, obviously). I’m not one for the labels or the “who made it.” But that’s me. I’d never pretend to know about it though, because I certainly don’t.

    amindinmotown

    January 15, 2010 at 1:07 pm

  11. Hey there, that was amusing. Did you eventually grab that girl’s shoulder and tell her???! I hope you did and tell us the reaction from of that girl please. Cheers xx

    Qing

    March 25, 2010 at 5:55 pm


Leave a Reply

