street cake

one hit wonder

with 5 comments

Blouse, Old Navy; Jeans, Abercrombie & Fitch; Chuck Taylor All Stars, Converse

la

So the reason this post is titled “one hit wonder” is because at the end of the night when I took this shirt off I noticed that there was a little hole under the arm.  And when I went to exchange it the cashier at Old Navy told me that they had plenty more of them and I walked to the back of the store where the “plenty” of shirts supposedly were and…nothing.  Nothing in the store, nothing online.  Nothing.  And I can’t tell you how bummed I was.  This was the perfect shirt–it was blousy and comfy, great tucked in, cute belted with leggings.  Perfect.  And now it’s gone.  Ugh, there is nothing worse than a clothing let down like that.  But on the plus side, it was perfect for whatever errands I was running 2 weeks (which is when I actually wore this, on a fluke warm day, and I’m just now posting it–whoops!)

Jacket, Converse by John Varvatos (via work sample sale)

la

The flukey warm weather was also a good excuse to bust out the JV jacket I got at the last sample sale we had while I was working.

*I find it odd that I can sit/stand in the exact same spot to take these pictures and they still don’t come out the same, color/lighting-wise.  Seriously–these were taken within 10 minutes of each other.  Very odd.

Written by stealthnerd

February 2, 2010 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love the blouse…what a disappointment!

    M.O.L.

    February 2, 2010 at 9:18 am

  2. i love that you rolled an office chair out there for the photos!

    and that’s exactly why i’ve started yearning for a better camera again too… the point & shoot just isn’t cutting it if you want blog photos you can be proud of : )
    the things we do for blog

    notsojenny

    February 2, 2010 at 4:43 pm

  3. Your hair looks fab in these photos. I love converse more than life.

    Jamie

    February 4, 2010 at 12:30 am

  4. M.O.L.: Such a bummer 😦

    NSJ: Oh I’m about to sound so trashy, but that desk chair actually lives outside. Boo and I got a joint desk so we sold his and mine is living outside until we sell it. The chairs live outside with the desk. What? Our storage closet isn’t that big!

    Jamie: Thank you!! This is my new hair thing and I’m glad you like! And who doesn’t love Converse? I don’t even work there anymore and I still totally dig their stuff!

    stealthnerd

    February 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm

  5. Hi Dear,

    I will be pushing 79 in March and just want to say thank you for breathing life back into my wardrobe. I’ve become a hot commodity in my community in Plantation Florida. I found a shirt just like yours in the five and dime down here… its spectacular doll. I just wanted to tell you that you’ve been an inspiration to me, and all the girls in my community are jealous!! It’s nice to see a young lady like you has some style and isn’t dressing like those crazy kids you see on the TV.

    God Bless You,

    Gracie

    Gracie

    February 10, 2010 at 5:53 pm


Leave a Reply

