street cake

Still-not-working girl

leave a comment »

Jacket, Express; Skirt, Express; Blouse, J. Crew Outlet; Tights, Target; Oxfords, Marc Fisher via DSW

la

I wore this outfit to an interview the Monday after I got home from vacation.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get the job.  I guess it’s hard to break back into journalism after being out of it for a few years.  It’s been a few years since I’ve interviewed anywhere and it was tricky to pick out an outfit.  My past interviews were all with fashion companies, either PR companies or designers, and so I had a lot of liberties with what I wore.  Suits just seemed silly but I still needed to look professional so I did a lot of suit separates, cute tops, and fun accessories.  But going in for a journalism interview I decided to pull the suit back out.  Well, sort of.  The jacket belongs to a suit and the skirt just happened to be on sale for a ridiculously low $19.99 and since I could wear them together I couldn’t resist picking it up.  I went with the skirt for this interview because I wanted something a little cuter and I wanted to still show my sense of style (hence the oxfords).  Plus, it’s always safer to split the suit up.  That way you still have something professional to wear if you get called back for second or third interviews–and trust me, that came in handy in NYC!

Oh, and I took this picture about 2 hours earlier than I normally do which is why A) it’s so awkwardly sunny and B) I took an inside pic to show a little more outfit detail.  But I wanted to post one silly outtake from my outside pics.

And I wish I brought this chair outside for this picture but I didn’t.  It lives outside with the desk it belongs to because we have nowhere to store them and haven’t had a chance to sell them yet.  Anyone in the Philly area want to buy a desk 😛

Written by stealthnerd

March 17, 2010 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

