street cake

ruby red slippers

with 3 comments

John Varvatos for Converse

John Varvatos for Converse

Ruffle sleeve tee, John Varvatos for Converse (via sample sale); Tank (underneath), Target; Jeans, Gap; Flats, Gap

la

Our good friends Chad and Kelly came down last week to have dinner with us while Chad was in town from Texas.  Chad was one of the groomsmen in our wedding and we haven’t seen him since October so it was really great to have dinner and spend time with them!  I wanted to wear something cute but not too dressy (i.e. no skirts) because Chelly (oh yes, that’s all my doing…I sometimes run all my words together when I’m talking fast/excited and I accidentally called them Chelly once and it stuck.  You’re welcome guys!) aren’t a dressy couple.  Some groups of friends I know I can safely rock a dress or skirt and not look like I’m trying.  Some groups are just laid back and jeans are the way to go.

I got this shirt during one of our many in-office sample sales and I really like it.  It’s a bit boxy so I paired it with my skinny jeans.  Normally I avoid boxy tops because of the ladies but the ruffles on the sleeves were just too sweet to pass up.  I’m thinking that I need to find a really bright tank (maybe red or pink) to pair with this shirt to give it a little something extra.  In the meantime though, I paired it with my ruby slippers (seriously, how else should I describe these?!) to brighten up the look.

Written by stealthnerd

April 22, 2010 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ruffles = AWESOME
    i’m smitten with them and pleats this year
    you wear them well : )

    notsojenny

    April 22, 2010 at 10:23 am

  2. aaahhh, love the touch of ruffles on you…very sweet like you

    A.J.

    April 22, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  3. NSJ: I love the ruffles too–they are so sweet but still can be chic.

    A.J.: Aw, thank you!

    stealthnerd

    April 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm


Leave a Reply

