street cake

How I Halloween

with 2 comments

Halloween is on Sunday but unfortunately I will not be dressing up this year.  I have actually missed out on Halloween for the past few years, with but one exception.  The first miss was because I had just moved into my apartment in New York.  There was a fairly impromptu Halloween the following year.  And then the weddings started.  Last year I was just coming back from my honeymoon on Halloween and while I’m not complaining about the honeymoon, I could have done with a few less costumed crazies while actually in Key West.  And this year we’ll be celebrating my brother’s wedding and missing the chance to dress up yet again.  Well, technically I will be dressing up but I will not be costuming up and that is a bummer.  So I’m going to revisit Halloweens past.

Halloween ’04: I was on a canning trip for my fraternity, raising money for THON, Penn State’s Dance MaraTHON.  If you don’t know what that is, PLEASE check their web site b/c it is the most amazing thing ever!  (You can also read my THON post from my other blog).  Me and my pledge buddy Tabbi were Quail Man and Quail Dog.

I wore all grey sweats, slippers, a red duct taped “Q” and yes, the belt on my head.

la

Halloween ’05: This was my junior year and I was living with 4 other girls in an apartment.  Everyone else went the traditional route, slutty angel, slutty devil, slutty ribbon dancer, and child-sized Pooh Bear costume.  Obviously.  I, however, took a different approach.  I went as That Guy.

One of my favorite features of the outfit was the thong (from my most recent conquest) hanging out of my back pocket.

la

Halloween ’06: Senior year I went for a cheesy throwback look.  80’s camp counselor.

Candy necklace, whistle, and my “purse” for the night was a first-aid kit.  Oh, and yes, that IS a side ponytail.  And the slutty maid is my “made of money” roommate.

la

Halloween ’08: The impromptu Halloween.  Boo and I hadn’t planned on attending any parties but when the invite showed up we decided to pull something together.  So we pulled out a cliche and went as the Palins.  Mainly because I could do the accent.  And no, I won’t be posting any audio so I guess you’ll have to take my word on it 😉  Oh, and check out my totally awesome plastic flute.  And the bangs.  I worked hard to finagle those–I haven’t actually had bangs since 2001.

la

And here’s one extra for you.  It wasn’t for Halloween but actually for a THON morale social.  Each morale team picked a different theme and basically had a massive costume party.  Our team went as nerds.  You can bet I fully embraced that outfit.

So there you have it.  If you’re stuck for a costume this year, you can always try some of these.  And if you do, be sure to send me a pic of how it turned out!!

Written by stealthnerd

October 27, 2010 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hoped you snorted


Leave a Reply

