street cake

THON style

leave a comment »

I’m taking a tiny break from the 30 for 30 to share a little something with you guys.  This weekend is Penn State’s Dance Marathon, or as it is more commonly known, THON.  THON is a 46-hour, no-sitting, no-sleeping dance marathon that raises money for pediatric cancer research.

My first experience with THON was my sophomore year of high school.  My best friends and I went up to PSU for an N*SYNC concert and we stopped by Family Carnival (a mini-carnival to sort of kick off the THON season).  I was so amazed to see all these college kids giving up their Saturday to play with little kids.  I didn’t get involved with THON my freshman year of college beyond a few stand shifts with my fraternity.  As pledges, it was our job to make sure that even in the middle of the night, our frat’s dancers could look up into the stands and see people there, supporting them.  By sophomore year I got involved as a moraler.  The role of moraler is to be there for the dancer, whatever they need.  Dancer needs a foot rub, that’s on you.  Dancer wants some cantaloupe, run out during your breaks and get some.  Cheer them up and keep them awake and happy.  It was great!  My morale team was amazing and I couldn’t have had a better time.  Junior year I was a moraler again and my best friend was on the team with me and my other bestie was my team captain.

I danced my senior year and it changed my life.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done but it was the best experience of my life.  If I could, I would dance again in a heartbeat!

So that’s the very short run down of my THON history.  I have a ton of posts up about THON on my old blog and I encourage you to check those out.  But even if you skip those, definitely check out the THON site–they will be live-broadcasting the event too!

 

1. Boo and I at THON

2. Taking a load off

3. THON videos

 

Here are a few of my favorite THON looks:

Our team had a wild west theme that year so in addition to rocking the orange, we also busted out the cowboy hats!

There are different activities all through the weekend–our morale team had a surfer dude photo cutout as well as hula hoops to play with so obviously the coconut bra was obviously a necessity!

But things are a little different when you are a dancer.

For one thing, fanny packs are acceptable:

Crowns are encouraged!

The brighter the better!  And a little bit of face paint never hurt anyone either 😉

Written by stealthnerd

February 18, 2011 at 8:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

